- Des nouvelles de Saint-Armand -

Plowing Match

Plowing Match

Ministry of agriculture, Pierre Paradis, tying his hand at plowing

The 138th Missisquoi County Annual Plowing Match was held October 8, 2016 on the farm of Denis Pelletier, St. Armand, Qc.

The rain held off until mid-afternoon for the twenty-three who participated in the event. They are Willie Realffe, Scott Harvey, Garth Harvey, Urban Swennen, Raymond Wightman, Eric Pelletier, Pierre Stewart, Barry Chamberlin, Maxim Brault, Ryan Realffe, Brent Chamberlin, Arnold Reynolds. Derick Swennen, Ross Harvey, Steven Goodhue, Pierre Paradis, Kaitlyn Realffe, Kayla Chamberlin, Lisa McNaughton, Matthew Girard, Tony Beuggar, Matthew McNaughton and Tom Beuggar.

Under a tent, donated food was served to the hungry plowmen and plow-women at noon hour. Thank you ladies you are a plus to the Association.

The Awards were given out the following Friday evening at the banquet at the Legion in Phillipsburg. The banquet was catered by Anne and Company. They served hot chicken/ biscuit  ham and vegetables, coleslaw and pumpkin/apple pies, coffee and tea.

The classes were semi-mount, 3 furrow, 2 furrow, antique, ladies and lawn tractors.

Willie Realffe, the Harvey brothers Trophy for the highest points in the semi-mount class, and the best crown the Norman Miller Trophy and the highest points for senior, the Missisquoi County Historical Society Trophy.

Urbain Swennen, the Junior Harvey Trophy for the highest points in the three furrow class and the Stanley Soule Trophy for best finish in the field.

Eric Pelletier, a Trophy from Sandra and Willie Realffe for the highest points in the two furrow class.

Ryan Realffe, a Trophy from the Missisquoi County Plowing Association for highest points in the antique class.

Kaitlyn Realffe, a Plaque from Barry Chamberlin for the highest points in the ladies class.

Matthew Girard, highest points in the lawn tractor class, received a Trophy designed by Steven McNaughton and Matthew Girard.

Kaitlyn Realffe, Kayla Chamberlin and Lisa McNaughton received cash money donated by Mr. & Mrs. Junior Harvey.

President Ross Harvey expressed his thanks to all those that helped make this plowing match a success in the form of cash, gifts, and trophies, tent and food. He also thanked the judge Peter Clark and the directors, secretary-treasurer, the caterer Ann and Company for their help too.

A standing ovation for President Ross Harvey !



  • Autre

Laisser un commentaire

Nous n’acceptons pas les commentaires anonymes et vous devez fournir une adresse de courriel valide pour publier un commentaire. Afin d’assumer notre responsabilité en tant qu’éditeurs, tous les commentaires sont modérés avant publication afin de nous assurer du respect de la nétiquette et ne pas laisser libre cours aux trolls. Cela pourrait donc prendre un certain temps avant que votre commentaire soit publié sur le site.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse courriel ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Avez-vous lu?
Consulter un autre numéro: